Toyota Hiace Super Custom Owners Forum

Anything Toyota Hiace related
 
HomeHome  PortalPortal  GalleryGallery  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  MemberlistMemberlist  UsergroupsUsergroups  Log in  

Share | 
 

 Need some opinions on wheels on my SC as I can't decide.....

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
mickB
Been here a while
Been here a while


Number of posts : 113
Age : 47
Home City : Coventry
Model and year : 1992 SC 2.4TD
Registration date : 2016-07-06

PostSubject: Need some opinions on wheels on my SC as I can't decide.....   Thu Nov 10, 2016 7:32 pm

I fitted Mazda RX8 alloys to it which are 8.5x18 with 225/45x18 they catch on full lock so I need to wind out the lock stops, but........I also had some Mitsubishi 6.5x16 BBS alloys too, bought a pair of cheap 215/55x16 tyres and chucked them on and now can't decide, I won't need any suspension adjustments and I think when lowered the 16's will look better, also having both on the van at once draws your eyes to the bigger 18" wheel but I think it looks over-wheeled

Anyhow, your opinions please Shocked Question What a Face




Back to top Go down
View user profile
TwentyOneThirtyFive
Been here a while
Been here a while
avatar

Number of posts : 146
Home City : Hertfordshire, UK
Model and year : Super GL Camper (Vantech), 2.8D 4wd, 1995
Registration date : 2016-08-04

PostSubject: Re: Need some opinions on wheels on my SC as I can't decide.....   Fri Nov 11, 2016 8:23 am

Is a very subjective thing Smile I'm a fan of the standard Toyota steels, only alloys I've ever really liked on vans are the Merc Pentas with big chunky tyres. None of this really helps does it...?

I suppose I prefer the simpler 5 spokes. Are they load rated for a van?


Back to top Go down
View user profile
toldsimply
Not so new now
Not so new now
avatar

Number of posts : 64
Home City : Maidenhead, UK
Model and year : 1993 Toyota Hiace Super GL 2.8 Litre with selectable 4WD
Registration date : 2012-05-09

PostSubject: Re: Need some opinions on wheels on my SC as I can't decide.....   Wed Nov 16, 2016 12:52 pm

The 5 spoke ones look great. The other ones look too busy. But it's all subjective.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.richleemusic.com
mickB
Been here a while
Been here a while


Number of posts : 113
Age : 47
Home City : Coventry
Model and year : 1992 SC 2.4TD
Registration date : 2016-07-06

PostSubject: Re: Need some opinions on wheels on my SC as I can't decide.....   Wed Nov 16, 2016 1:36 pm

Still can't decide Razz need to lower the suspension to how I want it then decide
Back to top Go down
View user profile
GPW
Im not old...just experienced
Im not old...just experienced
avatar

Number of posts : 339
Home City : Cambridge, UK
Model and year : Model: KD-KZH100G-MRPGT
Year: 1996
Colour: 4K1
Trim: FN42

Registration date : 2016-07-16

PostSubject: Re: Need some opinions on wheels on my SC as I can't decide.....   Thu Nov 17, 2016 3:03 pm

mickB wrote:
Still can't decide Razz need to lower the suspension to how I want it then decide

Some nice adjustable coilovers at the back would be the way forward Smile
Working out which fits may be a trip to a suspension specialist though.

If you do find out - remember we all want to know Very Happy
Back to top Go down
View user profile Online
mickB
Been here a while
Been here a while


Number of posts : 113
Age : 47
Home City : Coventry
Model and year : 1992 SC 2.4TD
Registration date : 2016-07-06

PostSubject: Re: Need some opinions on wheels on my SC as I can't decide.....   Sat Nov 19, 2016 5:58 pm

Decision made, picked up 4 really good tread Pirelli P6000 225/55x16 tyres today for 30 What a Face What a Face yes 30 for all 4 so the BBS will be painted gun metal grey and fitted up
Back to top Go down
View user profile
GPW
Im not old...just experienced
Im not old...just experienced
avatar

Number of posts : 339
Home City : Cambridge, UK
Model and year : Model: KD-KZH100G-MRPGT
Year: 1996
Colour: 4K1
Trim: FN42

Registration date : 2016-07-16

PostSubject: Re: Need some opinions on wheels on my SC as I can't decide.....   Sat Nov 19, 2016 7:21 pm

Sounds good!!!

BTW. I had P6000s on my Peugeot 406, first tyres I had where I could slide the back out - without trying, which was quite impressive for a front wheel drive car.

Beware of extremely low grip in the wet and be prepared to dial in a bunch of oppo!!
Back to top Go down
View user profile Online
TwentyOneThirtyFive
Been here a while
Been here a while
avatar

Number of posts : 146
Home City : Hertfordshire, UK
Model and year : Super GL Camper (Vantech), 2.8D 4wd, 1995
Registration date : 2016-08-04

PostSubject: Re: Need some opinions on wheels on my SC as I can't decide.....   Sun Nov 20, 2016 5:35 pm


I thought you had to follow a safety car if you drive Pirelli's in the rain? Very Happy

(that might not make sense unless you watch F1!)
Back to top Go down
View user profile
mickB
Been here a while
Been here a while


Number of posts : 113
Age : 47
Home City : Coventry
Model and year : 1992 SC 2.4TD
Registration date : 2016-07-06

PostSubject: Re: Need some opinions on wheels on my SC as I can't decide.....   Sat Dec 03, 2016 3:32 pm

Now with both BBS alloys on and 225/55x16 instead of 215/55x16 also whacked with the lowering stick a bit and wound the front torsion nuts of a far bit, needs to settle and have the other side done yet

Back to top Go down
View user profile
TwentyOneThirtyFive
Been here a while
Been here a while
avatar

Number of posts : 146
Home City : Hertfordshire, UK
Model and year : Super GL Camper (Vantech), 2.8D 4wd, 1995
Registration date : 2016-08-04

PostSubject: Re: Need some opinions on wheels on my SC as I can't decide.....   Sat Dec 03, 2016 4:41 pm

Looks nice with the pair of them on there, think I've changed my mind Smile
Back to top Go down
View user profile
GPW
Im not old...just experienced
Im not old...just experienced
avatar

Number of posts : 339
Home City : Cambridge, UK
Model and year : Model: KD-KZH100G-MRPGT
Year: 1996
Colour: 4K1
Trim: FN42

Registration date : 2016-07-16

PostSubject: Re: Need some opinions on wheels on my SC as I can't decide.....   Sat Dec 03, 2016 5:11 pm

Looks good. Did you lower the back - and if so, how?
Back to top Go down
View user profile Online
mickB
Been here a while
Been here a while


Number of posts : 113
Age : 47
Home City : Coventry
Model and year : 1992 SC 2.4TD
Registration date : 2016-07-06

PostSubject: Re: Need some opinions on wheels on my SC as I can't decide.....   Sat Dec 03, 2016 7:40 pm

No not yet, I'll be cutting a coil out when I do lower the back, I need to do the other side front then level it and settle it to work out rear drop, it maybe 2 coils out yet, I've still got 25mm on the front torsion bolts to wind off
Back to top Go down
View user profile
GPW
Im not old...just experienced
Im not old...just experienced
avatar

Number of posts : 339
Home City : Cambridge, UK
Model and year : Model: KD-KZH100G-MRPGT
Year: 1996
Colour: 4K1
Trim: FN42

Registration date : 2016-07-16

PostSubject: Re: Need some opinions on wheels on my SC as I can't decide.....   Sun Dec 04, 2016 10:35 am

Ah ok, that makes sense.

I still reckon there's a pair of rear coil springs out there that would already be perfect (or could be tuned with spacers). Maybe the rear springs from an E30 might fit.

The problem with cutting is that the end of a spring is usually heat formed into a different shape at the end, so when you cut it the spring no longer locks in place evenly (and you have no old springs to go back to).

As far as I can see it's a very straighforward flat-top + flat-bottom spring, a visit to a decent scrapyard that collects such things onto shelving - with the old spring in hand - would I think give you a decent match in a short amount of time.
Back to top Go down
View user profile Online
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Need some opinions on wheels on my SC as I can't decide.....   

Back to top Go down
 
Need some opinions on wheels on my SC as I can't decide.....
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Unpopular Fame Opinions You Hold
» OPINIONS/COMMENTS on the 3 Jun 2014 NVC Report
» Universal Carriers
» Is this why we pay ourtaxes?
» Dr Martin Roberts: THE LIE DETECTOR -9/1/2014-the mccannfiles

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Toyota Hiace Super Custom Owners Forum  :: Pictures Of your Hiace :: Show Us Yours !-
Jump to: